Meet the illustrator: Rebecca Lyes

She loves Peep Show and is dismayed that we’ve never seen it. What can you do? All you need to know is she’s a bloody good illustrator. We had a chat with her about her album art for our Johnny Cash Live at Folsom Prison box…

Rebecca Lyes

I’m from Worcester and currently work in a shop. Although my drawing is more of a hobby, I’m starting to venture out into the art world with illustrations for cards. I would describe my work as being cartoony-style doodles, with some rude treats slipped in.

The place and the people involved in this record are what inspired my piece. I watched a few documentaries about the whole thing, and the fi lm Walk the Line. I also listened to the album while working – it really helped me capture the atmosphere.

My favourite thing about At Folsom Prison is the hearty, folksy, country vibe. The live element is great. I love hearing Johnny and June talk and joke with the audience. I felt the prisoners were a huge part of this incredible moment – capturing their expressions was the most enjoyable part of this project.

I don’t own that many records myself mostly charity shop finds. But my favourite is probably Joe Cocker’s With a Little Help from My Friends. I also own a copy of Jackie Wilson’s ‘Reet Petite’ single!

If I hosted a dinner party, I’d invite Mitchell and Webb, Wes Anderson and Bob Dylan, for sure. If I could go anywhere it’d be Machu Picchu, Peru. I’d go with my man Tudge, and we’d be drinking slippery nipples while listening to the Stones’ Sticky Fingers!

My top five albums at the moment are:

The Growlers – Are You in or Out

The Growlers

Allah-Las – Allah-Las

Allah Las

The Wave Pictures – Instant Coffee Baby

The Wave Pictures

David Bowie – Hunky Dory

David Bowie

The Black Keys – The Big Come Up

The Black Keys

Going forward I’ll be selling my illustrations and cards at a pop-up shop in a pub called the Firefly in Worcester. My friend Mary runs it at the start of every season, in-line with her own business, Funk Trunk Vintage. She’s lovely enough to save me a table…

Check out Rebecca’s Instagram feed to keep up-to-date with the latest developments in the world of her and her cat. Oh, and to see any new artwork she produces too…

 

Leave a Reply

